Travailler avec des interprètes et courtiers culturels

Cette page fournit des directives pour travailler avec des interprètes.

Travailler avec des interprètes (en anglais seulement)
This chapter provides an orientation to working with mental health interpreters from the book, Cultural Consultation: Encountering the Other in Mental Health Care, with a review of relevant research literature and theoretical models followed by guidelines and practical recommendations relevant to cultural consultation.

Lignes directrices pour travailler efficacement avec des interprètes dans le contexte de la santé mentale (en anglais seulement)
Ce document, par le Victorian Transcultural Psychiatry Unit à Melbourne, Australie, comprend de l’information succincte et clairement présentée sur l’interprétation dans les milieux de santé mentale, la profession d’interprète, les caractéristiques des réunions interprétées, ainsi que des lignes directrices destinées à aider les professionnels de la santé à acquérir les connaissances et les compétences nécessaires pour travailler efficacement avec les interprètes. À l’exception de certaines informations sur la réservation d’interprètes et les questions juridiques, qui sont spécifiques à l’Australie,  ce document est pertinent et applicable aux cliniciens travaillant au Canada.

Guide pratique pour travailler avec les interprètes dans le contexte de la santé mentale (en anglais seulement)
Ce guide destiné aux professionnels de la santé fournit une liste de révision rapide pour faciliter leur travail avec les interprètes. Il a été publié par le Victorian Transcultural Psychiatry Unit (VTPU) en Australie en 2006.

Travailler avec des interprètes en milieu médical : lignes directrices pour les psychologues (en anglais seulement)
Ce guide, par la Société britannique de psychologie, fournit des informations pour les psychologues qui sont appelés à travailler avec des interprètes. Les sujets abordés comprennent la préparation avant la réunion/consultation, des considérations pratiques, des lignes directrices pendant et après la réunion/consultation elle-même et l’interprétation téléphonique. Quoique certaines des informations contenues dans ce document puissent être spécifiques au Royaume-Uni, les recommandations générales concernant le travail avec les interprètes sont tout aussi applicables par les professionnels travaillant au Canada.

Travailler avec des interprètes (en anglais seulement)
Ce bref article donne un aperçu des questions entourant le travail avec des interprètes en santé mentale. L’article couvre des sujets tels que la distinction entre la traduction linguistique et culturelle et fournit un ensemble de lignes directrices générales pour travailler avec des interprètes. Rachel Tribe, 2007. The Psychologist 20 (3): 159- 161

Travailler avec des interprètes dans le contexte de la santé mentale (en anglais seulement)
Cet article, publié par le Journal of Mental Health en 2009, est basé sur la littérature ainsi que l’expérience clinique et fournit une série de lignes conductrices pour faciliter le travail avec les interprètes en santé mentale.

Travailler avec des courtiers culturels

Culture Brokers, Clinically Applied Ethnography, and Cultural Mediation (en anglais seulement)
This chapter looks at the practice of cultural mediation and the role of culture broker in medical settings with a focus on the Cultural Consultation Service (CCS) of the Jewish General Hospital and ethnopsychiatric consultation in other settings.

Le blogue des courtiers culturels (en anglais seulement)
Le BlogSpot des courtiers culturels fournit des informations et des brochures à l’intention des courtiers culturels tels que des définitions, et précise le rôle joué par les courtiers culturels dans un contexte multiculturel et leur importance dans la prestation de services. Ce site décrit également certains termes et concepts que les organismes communautaires qui font appel aux courtiers culturels devraient savoir afin de fournir des soins appropriés aux personnes d’horizons ethnoculturels divers. Il fournit aussi des renseignements sur la gestion d’équipes multiculturelles et les moyens d’échanger des informations significatives et non équivoques au-delà des frontières culturelles, en veillant à préserver le respect mutuel et réduire les antagonismes.

Working with Interpreters & Culture Brokers

Guidelines for working with interpreters

Working with Interpreters
This chapter provides an orientation to working with mental health interpreters from the book, Cultural Consultation: Encountering the Other in Mental Health Care, with a review of relevant research literature and theoretical models followed by guidelines and practical recommendations relevant to cultural consultation.

Guidelines for Working Effectively with Interpreters in Mental Health Settings
This document from the Victorian Transcultural Psychiatry Unit in Melbourne, Australia, provides succinct and clearly-presented information on interpreting in mental health settings, the interpreting profession, the characteristics of interpreted meetings, as well as guidelines intended to assist health care professionals develop the knowledge and skills needed to work effectively with interpreters. With the exception of some information about booking interpreters and legal issues, which is specific to Australia, this document is relevant and applicable to clinicians working in Canada.

Quick Guide to Working with Interpreters in Mental Health Settings
This guide provides health professionals with a quick review list to assist them in working with interpreters. They were published by the Victorian Transcultural Psychiatry Unit (VTPU), Australia, in 2006.

Working with Interpreters in Health Settings: Guidelines for Psychologists
This guide from the British Psychological Society provides information for psychologists on working with interpreters. Subjects include preparation before the consultation/meeting, practical considerations, guidelines during and after the meeting/consultation itself and telephone interpreting. Some of the information contained in this document may be specific to the UK, but general recommendations on working with interpreters should be equally applicable to professionals working in Canada.

Working with Interpreters
This brief article provides an overview of issues involved in working with interpreters in mental health. The article covers topics such as the distinction between linguistic and cultural translation, and provides a set of general guidelines for working with interpreters. (Rachel Tribe, 2007. The Psychologist 20 (3): 159- 161).

Working with Interpreters Across Language and Culture in Mental Health
This paper published in the Journal of Mental Health in 2009 draws upon the literature and clinical accounts to provide a set of positive practice guidelines on working with interpreters in mental health.

Working with Culture Brokers

Culture Brokers, Clinically Applied Ethnography, and Cultural Mediation
This chapter looks at the practice of cultural mediation and the role of culture broker in medical settings with a focus on the Cultural Consultation Service (CCS) of the Jewish General Hospital and ethnopsychiatric consultation in other settings.

Cultural Brokers BlogSpot
The Cultural Brokers BlogSpot provides information and brochures for cultural brokers such as definitions, the role cultural brokers play in a multicultural context and their importance in service delivery. This site also describes some key terms and concepts that community organizations which use cultural brokers should know in order to provide appropriate care for people from different ethnocultural backgrounds. It also provides information about managing multicultural teams and ways of exchanging meaningful and unambiguous information across cultural boundaries, in a way that preserves mutual respect and minimizes antagonism.