Ontario

Across Boundaries
Le centre de santé mentale offre une gamme de services et du soutien aux personnes de couleur dans la région du Grand Toronto qui ont des graves problèmes de santé mentale.

Association de santé mentale Hong Fook
Depuis 1982, l’association promeut la santé mentale en fournissant des renseignements, de la formation et du soutien aux personnes et à leurs familles, membres de communautés asiatiques, qui font face à des problèmes de santé mentale.

Centre des femmes sud-asiatiques (Toronto)
Le centre est un lieu où les femmes sud-asiatiques de tous les milieux et de tous les âges peuvent accéder à une variété de programmes et de services.Il offre divers programmes et services, y compris un groupe de bien-être, un programme de violence contre les femmes, un groupe pour jeunes, un groupe pour aînés et des activités de promotion de la santé.

Initiative des Communautés Accueillantes
L’Initiative des Communautés Accueillantes organise des activités de recherche dans les études sur l’immigration et les minorités, offre des ressources pour les organisations communautaires et les prestataires de services qui travaillent avec les immigrants et les réfugiés, et maintien un répertoire de partenariats d’immigration locaux en Ontario.

Fiches d’information multilingue (Université de Toronto CAMH)
Le Centre de santé mentale et toxicomanie de l’Université de Toronto a créé un site web avec des informations multi-lingues sur divers problèmes de santé mentale et de toxicomanie.

Accès Alliance: Services de santé multiculturels et communautaires
Accès Alliance travaille à promouvoir la santé, le bien-être et l’amélioration de l’accès aux services pour les immigrants et les réfugiés à Toronto. L’organisation se concentre sur la fourniture de soins de santé accessibles qui tiennent compte des différences culturelles et linguistiques spécifiquement pour les réfugiés et les nouveaux arrivants au Canada. Accès Alliance offre des services d’établissement gratuitement pour soutenir les nouveaux arrivants. Ses services comprennent du counseling individuel sur l’établissement, un centre de ressources pour les nouveaux arrivants et des ateliers pour éduquer ceux-ci. Ses programmes communautaires comprennent le soutien aux pairs pour les familles avec de jeunes enfants et des programmes pour femmes tels que l’anglais langue seconde pour femmes enceintes, les arts expressifs, des ateliers sur la santé et des programmes de nutrition et de soutien prénatal. Il offre également des programmes axés sur les jeunes, y compris des activités de portes ouvertes, des programmes de soutien individuel et le programme populaire Friends for Youth. En plus de son service direct et ses activités de recherche et de défense, Accès Alliance dirige les Services de Langues Accès Alliance, une entreprise indépendante rémunérée à l’acte qui fournit des services d’interprétation par téléphone et face-à-face et des services de traduction immédiats aux clients partenaires dans la région du Grand Toronto.

Ontario

Across Boundaries
The mental health centre provides a range of support and services to people of colour in the Greater Toronto Area who are experiencing severe mental health problems and illness.

Catholic Immigration Centre (Ottawa-Carleton)

The Catholic Centre for Immigrants is a community-based non-profit, charitable organization that serves immigrants and refugees in the Ottawa-Carleton region.  Services include:

  • temporary shelter and housing assistance to incoming refugees and homeless immigrants;
  • orientation, settlement and integration services to newcomers;
  • Canadian friends for newcomers;
  • connections for newcomers with their faith communities;
  • help in organizing sponsorship of refugees;
  • housing search and eviction prevention support;
  • employment-related services to newcomers;
  • assistance to foreign-trained professionals; and
  • assistance to the Ottawa Police Services in improving relationships between the Service and immigrant communities.

Hong Fook Mental Health Association
Since 1982, the Hong Fook Mental Health Association promotes mental health by providing information, training and support to people and their families, members of Asian communities, who are confronting mental health issues.

Centre for Immigrant and Community Services (Toronto and York Region)
The Centre for Immigrant and Community Services is a community organization offering services to new comers to the Toronto and York regions. The website can be viewed in English, Traditional Chinese, and Tamil. Programs include services to immigrant children and youth, families, and seniors. The centre offers educational workshops and culturally relevant recreation and activities.

South Asian Women’s Centre (Toronto)
The centre is a place where South Asian Women of all backgrounds and ages can access a variety of programs and services. It offers various programs and services, including a wellness group, a violence against women program, a youth group, a senior’s group, health promotion activities.

Welcoming Communities Initiative
Welcoming Communities Initiative organizes research activities in immigration and minority studies, offers resources for community organizations and service providers that work with immigrants and refugees, and maintains a directory of Local Immigration Partnerships in Ontario.

Multilingual fact sheets (University of Toronto CAMH)
The University of Toronto Center for Addictions and Mental Health has created a website with multi-language information on various mental health and addiction issues.

 Access Alliance: Multicultural Health and Community Services
Access Alliance works to promote health, wellbeing and improved access to services for immigrants and refugees in Toronto. The organization focuses on providing culturally sensitive and language accessible health care specifically for refugees and newcomers to Canada. Access Alliance provides free settlement services to support newcomers. These services include one-on-one settlement counselling, a resource centre for newcomers, and newcomer education workshops. Their community programs include peer outreach for families with young children and women’s programs such as ESL for pregnant women, expressive arts, health workshops and prenatal nutrition and support programs. They offer youth-focused programs including drop-in activities, one-on-one support and the popular Friends for Youth Program. In addition to direct service, research and advocacy activities, Access Alliance operates Access Alliance Language Services, an independent fee-for-service business providing immediate over the phone interpretation, face to face and translation services to partners clients in the GTA.